One thing I hate are nda’s(non disclosure agreements). Seems like 99% of the work I have done in the past few years had an nda attached to it! Basically meaning I get to work on an incredibly cool project, only I can’t talk about it for a really long time.

That was the case for this art I did for the new X-Men movie. The painting I created was part of a pitch Gravillis Inc. presented to the movie producers. I work on these types of projects all the time.

Every once in a while I will have a piece approved like the “Youth in Revolt” film and my piece becomes the “official” poster art.  More often than not, it becomes one of many pieces of pretty cool art that never sees the light of day, like my work for “Notorious, and First Sunday.”  That was the case with this piece, however now that the film is out… I’m showing it here.

The concept for the poster was presented to me by the owner of the agency and I was responsible for the render.

Reference:  Uniform from the Marvel comic.

The early stage of my painting:

The Client wanted a close crop “hero image” of one of the mutants in uniform.  The costume is so iconic that this would have been a very powerful image in my opinion and also a great teaser for the film.  I personally liked the idea of not knowing which character this would be, rather than spoon feeding the entire cast to the viewers.

Here is my final illustration:  (click to enlarge)

As you can see the style was heavily influenced by artist Alex Ross.  I have mentioned before, I am a huge fan of his work.  However, unlike Alex… I like the X-men!  I wanted the textures and belt to really pop on the uniform since the design is rather simple.

Even though my piece wasn’t used, this was an incrediblly fun project to work on, and I’m happy to add it to my portfolio.  Every time I have an excuse to work on a Superhero painting I am a happy guy.  Please feel free to comment!

