Another in the series of box art I painted for Hasbro’s GI Joe figures.

Spec sheet for figure provided by Hasbro.

This time I was given a spec sheet rather than photos of the prototype toy. All of the needed weapons and colors were provided. I like when things are this straight forward. It allowed me to concentrate on the render. Like the other paintings in this series, I used Corel Painter and Adobe Photoshop CS 4.

Line drawing.

Rough sketch and clean line sent to client. My line was pretty much accepted as sent, however the blade attachment went from the original two to three blades. Also the gauntlets changed a bit. A very easy fix.

Approved finished paint (click to enlarge).

Since the color scheme on this guy was so simple, I wanted to add some serious texture to break apart his uniform.

Detail view (Click to enlarge).

Oh, the uniform changed on this guy a few times since I completed the art. So I’m pretty sure my version never saw store shelves. Below is the toy though, would have been cool… I think.

Hope you like it! I will continue to post these when I have time. Think I’ll put up Scarlett next. Please feel free to comment and subscribe!
